By default, a site license will have three groups: editors, readOnly users, and administrators. If you use SSO, SmartDraw may also see groups you created for your organization.
You can also add your own custom groups that apply only to SmartDraw. This page walks you through creating and managing groups.
Let's say you have a Marketing group and you now want the Marketing group to see and edit the documents in the Marketing folder.
Under permissions, make sure you add the Marketing group by clicking on "Add Groups".
Then, remove the "Editor" and "ReadOnly" groups by selecting them and choosing "Remove Group."
You can also select the group and deny specific permissions like ability to edit or delete using the checkboxes to the right. Let's go over what each permission type means:
- Read - Makes the folder and documents inside visible to users and if it's the only option selected, it restricts users to only open and view these documents.
- Create - Allows users to create new documents, but not new sub-folders. This option also won't let users edit any documents created.
- Edit - Allows users to edit documents, but not create new ones. This options also lets users create new sub-folders.
- Delete - Allows users to delete documents and sub-folders. This option won't let users delete the main shared folder.
Please note that the permissions are additive, so if you check Edit, but don't check Read, your users won't be able to see any of the documents
they could edit.